Skip to main content

Partner markets

Partner markets are operations in which the Group has entered into a partnership agreement with a local mobile operator, enabling a range of Vodafone’s global products and services to be marketed in that operator’s territory. Under the terms of these partner market agreements, the Group and its partners cooperate in the development and marketing of certain services, often under dual brand logos. The Group’s partner market strategy enables the Group to implement its global services in new territories, extend its brand reach into new markets and create additional revenue without the need for equity investment.

Similar arrangements also exist with a number of the Group’s joint ventures, associated undertakings and investments.

The results of partner markets are included within common functions, together with the net result of unallocated central costs and recharges to the Group’s operations, including royalty fees for the use of the Vodafone brand. Partnership agreements in place at 31 March 2008, excluding those with the Group’s joint ventures, associated undertakings and investments, are shown in the table. Since 31 March 2008, the Group has entered into four further partner market agreements.

Country Operator
Argentina CTI Móvil(1)
Austria A1
Bahrain Zain
Belgium Proximus
Brazil Claro(1)
Bulgaria Mobiltel
Caribbean(2) Digicel
Chile Claro(1)
Colombia Comcel(1)
Croatia VIPnet
Cyprus Cytamobile-Vodafone
Denmark TDC
Ecuador Porta(1)
Country Operator
El Salvador Claro(1)
Estonia Elisa
Finland Elisa
Guatemala Claro(1)
Guernsey Airtel-Vodafone
Honduras Claro(1)
Hong Kong SmarTone-Vodafone
Iceland Vodafone
Indonesia XL
Japan SoftBank
Jersey Airtel-Vodafone
Latvia Bité
Lithuania Bité
Country Operator
Luxembourg LUXGSM
Malaysia Celcom
Mexico Telcel(1)
Nicaragua Claro(1)
Norway TDC
Paraguay Claro(1)
Peru Claro(1)
Singapore M1
Sri Lanka Dialog
Switzerland Swisscom
Uruguay Claro(1)
(1) Partnership through America Móvil.
(2) Partnership includes Bermuda and the following countries within the Caribbean: Anguilla, Antigua and Barbuda, Aruba, Barbados, Bonaire, Curaçao, the Cayman Islands, Dominica, French West Indies, Grenada, Jamaica, Haiti, St Lucia, St Kitts and Nevis, St Vincent, Trinidad and Tobago, Turks and Caicos Islands and British Guyana.